International Water Ski Federation Hall of Fame


Wm. P. Barlow, Jr., Non-voting Chairman
Chantal Amade-Escot, France
George Athans, Canada
Bruce Cockburn, Australia
Murray Eade, New Zealand
Ian Faulkner, Australia
Carole Lowe, United States
Gunther Ludwig, Germany
Edgardo Martin, Argentina
Stefan Rauchenwald, Austria

Selection Process

Hall of Fame

Selection for the Hall of Fame requires the affirmative vote of at least six of the nine members of the Selection Committee. A maximum of five individuals can be elected in each two-year period.

For a skier to be eligible for consideration he must have competed in at least two World Championships and must have been retired from Open competition for at least two additional World Championships. The primary considerations in voting for a skier is his skiing record in the World Championships, World records set, sportsmanship, character and integrity.

Officials are selected primarily based on significant contributions to water skiing at the international level over a period of at least 15 years. Officials need not be retired from the sport to be recognized.

Order of Merit

The Order of Merit is awarded at the discretion of the Executive Board of the International Water Ski Federation to individuals who have made meaningful contributions to the sport of water skiing which do not fall within the guidelines for the Hall of Fame. No such awards were made in 2009.

Elected to the Hall of Fame in 2009

Andrea (Bubu) Alessi, Italy. A reliable contributor to the Italian team for nine consecutive World Championships, Andrea’s record includes medals in the trick and jumping events and in overall. His gold medal came in jumping—his strongest single event—in 1993, a memorable year in which he also won a bronze medal in tricks and a silver in overall. Andrea also received a silver medal in overall in 1995 and a bronze in 1997. A sixth medal, a silver in jumping, was earned in 1989.

Tory Baggiano, United States. A trick specialist, Tory skied in five World Championships from 1987 to 1995 either as a member of the United States team or an independent qualifier. During that time he won two medals—a gold in 1993 and a silver in 1987. Tory set World trick records in 1990 and 1991, and when he retired in 1998 he had been rated among the top five Men’s trick skiers for twelve consecutive years.

Susi Graham, Canada. An overall skier with slalom as her strongest event, Susi Graham-McCormick competed on the Canadian team for nine World Championships. She earned four medals during that period—three bronze and one silver—and contributed significantly to the Canadian team victories in 1991, 1993 and 1999. Susi set four World slalom records from 1990 to 1995 and held the World Championships slalom record for eight years.

Britt and Tawn Larsen, United States. Identical twins Britt Larsen-Kovak and Tawn Larsen-Hahn together dominated the Women’s trick skiing event for a more than a decade. In seven World Championships, Britt captured six medals— two of them gold—and Tawn took home five medals—four of which were gold. Tawn held World records from 1988 to 1999, and one or the other of the two held the top Women’s tricks ranking in all but two years from 1987 to 2001.

Kaye Thurlow-Faulkner, Australia. A strong overall contender, Kaye competed in five World Championships from 1967 to 1975, earning eight medals including two bronze medals in overall. Kaye was selected to ski in the 1972 Olympic demonstration in Kiel where she placed second in tricks, jumping and overall, and she was Moomba Masters overall champion eight times between 1968 and 1976.



André Coutau SUI
Willa Worthington McGuire USA
Alfredo Mendoza MEX


Elizabeth Allan USA
William P. Barlow USA
Franco Carraro ITA
Marina Doria SUI
Jean Muller FRA


George Athans CAN
Alan Clark AUS
William D. Clifford USA
Mike Hazelwood GBR
Mike Suyderhoud USA


Ivan Cantacuzene SUI
Carlos Suarez VEN
Cindy Todd USA
Roby Zucchi ITA

Golden Anniversary

Piera Castelvetri ITA
Bruce Cockburn AUS
Roger Codère CAN
Richard Cowell BWI
René Daumas MEX
Jean-Jacques Finsterwald SUI
Simon Khoury LEB
Betty Leighton AUS
David Nations GBR
Dick Pope, Sr. USA
Brett Wing AUS


Ana Maria Carrasco VEN
Geoff Carrington AUS
Sylvie Hulsemann SUI
Neville May AUS
Karen Neville AUS


Chantal Amade-Escot
Maria Victoria Carrasco VEN
Ian Faulkner AUS
Renate Hansluvka AUT
Chuck Stearns USA


Bruce Douglas NZE
Sammy Duvall USA
Franz Kirsch GER
Deena Mapple USA
Jean-Marie Muller FRA


Bob Corson, United States.
Sylvie Maurial, France.
Ricky McCormick, United States.
Jeannette Stewart-Wood, Great Britain.
Glenn Thurlow, Australia.

Order of Merit

George Blair,United States
Ralph Meloon,United States


Wayne Grimditch, United States.
Max Kirwan, O.A.M., Australia.
Helena Kjellander, Sweden.
Judy McClintock-Messer, Canada.
Natalia Roumiantseva, Russia.

Order of Merit

Bruno Rixen,Germany


Andres Botero, Colombia.
Bob LaPoint, United States.
Patrice Martin, France.
Bruce Neville, Australia.
Aubrey Sheena, GreatBritain.