International Water Ski Federation Hall of Fame


Wm. P. Barlow, Jr., Non-voting Chairman
Chantal Amade-Escot, France
George Athans, Canada
Murray Eade, New Zealand
Ian Faulkner, Australia
Ron Ferguson, Australia
Carole Lowe, United States
Gunther Ludwig, Germany
Edgardo Martin, Argentina
Stefan Rauchenwald, Austria

Selection Process

Hall of Fame

Selection for the Hall of Fame requires the affirmative vote of at least six of the nine members of the Selection Committee. A maximum of five individuals can be elected in each two-year period.

For a skier to be eligible for consideration he must have competed in at least two World Championships and must have been retired from Open competition for at least two additional World Championships. The primary considerations in voting for a skier is his skiing record in the World Championships, World records set, sportsmanship, character and integrity.

Officials are selected primarily based on significant contributions to water skiing at the international level over a period of at least 15 years. Officials need not be retired from the sport to be recognized.

Order of Merit

The Order of Merit is awarded at the discretion of the Executive Board of the International Water Ski Federation to individuals who have made meaningful contributions to the sport of water skiing which do not fall within the guidelines for the Hall of Fame. No awards in this category have been made this year.

Elected to the Hall of Fame in 2007

Selection ceremony announcements made at the IWSF World Championships held in Linz, Austria on August 30, 2007 by Wm. P. Barlow, Jr., Chairman

Andres Botero, Colombia. A Colombian national water ski champion and a contestant in the Olympic Demonstration in 1972, Andres subsequently moved into administration. He served as President of the PanAm Region from 1980 to 1991 and from 1991 to 2001 as President of the International Water Ski Federation, making Olympic participation a major IWSF goal. Andres has recently been elected as a member of the International Olympic Committee.

Bob LaPoint, United States. United States. A consistent champion in the slalom event through a 35-year career, Bob's defining achievement was winning five World slalom titles from 1977 to 1987. Bob was also a five-time U.S. Open and U.S. Masters slalom champion, and set the Men's World slalom record five times as well. He last record came in 1984· with 5 buoys at 10.75 meters.

Patrice Martin, France. Beginning as a trick skiing specialist and winning open events from the age of 11, Patrice evolved into the finest overall skier of his time. In 27 years of international competition, Patrice was 34 times European champion, 17 times number one in the World Ranking list in tricks and overall, and set six World tricks records from 1978 to 1996. At the World Championships Patrice garnered 15 medals, including an unprecedented six consecutive gold medals as overall champion from 1989 to 1999.

Bruce Neville, Australia. A member of the Australian team for the World Championships seven times, winning four medals in the process, including one in overall competition. While a strong overall skier, with five Moomba Masters overall championships to his credit, he became a jump specialist later in his career, setting the World record three times in 1995, 1997 and 1999 and taking two gold medals in the World Championships in 1991 and 1995.

Aubrey Sheena, GreatBritain. Aubrey has been involved in water skiing as a skier and administrator for over fifty years. As a Chartered Accountant, the position of Treasurer naturally came his way, beginning his administrative duties as Treasurer of the British Federation and ending them as the first Treasurer of the International Water Ski Federation. In between Aubrey served 14, years as President of the Europe, Africa and Middle East Region (EAME), seeing the region grow, develop a sense of unity and build a sound financial position during his extraordinary term.

Awarded the Order of Merit

Bruno Rixen, Germany. After others had failed in their attempts, Bruno Rixen invented and developed the first successful water ski cableway. Today more than 150 such installations have been made around the world, some operating for as long as 40 years, bringing the pleasures of water skiing and wake boarding to a much wider public.



André Coutau SUI
Willa Worthington McGuire USA
Alfredo Mendoza MEX


Elizabeth Allan USA
William P. Barlow USA
Franco Carraro ITA
Marina Doria SUI
Jean Muller FRA


George Athans CAN
Alan Clark AUS
William D. Clifford USA
Mike Hazelwood GBR
Mike Suyderhoud USA


Ivan Cantacuzene SUI
Carlos Suarez VEN
Cindy Todd USA
Roby Zucchi ITA

Golden Anniversary

Piera Castelvetri ITA
Bruce Cockburn AUS
Roger Codère CAN
Richard Cowell BWI
René Daumas MEX
Jean-Jacques Finsterwald SUI
Simon Khoury LEB
Betty Leighton AUS
David Nations GBR
Dick Pope, Sr. USA
Brett Wing AUS


Ana Maria Carrasco VEN
Geoff Carrington AUS
Sylvie Hulsemann SUI
Neville May AUS
Karen Neville AUS


Chantal Amade-Escot
Maria Victoria Carrasco VEN
Ian Faulkner AUS
Renate Hansluvka AUT
Chuck Stearns USA


Bruce Douglas NZE
Sammy Duvall USA
Franz Kirsch GER
Deena Mapple USA
Jean-Marie Muller FRA


Bob Corson, United States.
Sylvie Maurial, France.
Ricky McCormick, United States.
Jeannette Stewart-Wood, Great Britain.
Glenn Thurlow, Australia.

Order of Merit

George Blair,United States
Ralph Meloon,United States


Wayne Grimditch, United States.
Max Kirwan, O.A.M., Australia.
Helena Kjellander, Sweden.
Judy McClintock-Messer, Canada.
Natalia Roumiantseva, Russia.

Order of Merit

Bruno Rixen,Germany