International Water Ski Federation Hall of Fame


Wm. P. Barlow, Jr., Non-voting Chairman
George Athans, Canada
Elaine Borter, Switzerland
Harry de Laat, The Netherlands
Murray Eade, New Zealand
Ian Faulkner, Australia
Ron Ferguson, Australia
Carole Lowe, United States
Gunther Ludwig, Germany
Edgardo Martin, Aigentina

Selection Process

Hall of Fame

Selection for the Hall of Fame requires the affirmative vote of at least six of the nine members of the Selection Committee. A maximum of five individuals can be elected in each two-year period.

For a skier to be eligible for consideration he must have competed in at least two World Championships and must have been retired from Open competition for at least two additional World Championships. The primary considerations in voting for a skier is his skiing record in the World Championships, World records set, sportsmanship, character and integrity.

Officials are selected primarily based on significant contributions to water skiing at the international level over a period of at least 15 years. Officials need not be retired from the sport to be recognized.

Order of Merit

The Order of Merit is awarded at the discretion of the Executive Board of the International Water Ski Federation to individuals who have made meaningful contributions to the sport of water skiing which do not fall within the guidelines for the Hall of Fame. No awards in this category have been made this year.

Elected to the Hall of Fame in 2005

Selection ceremony announcements made at the IWSF World Championships held in Tianjin, China on August 18, 2005 by Wm. P. Barlow, Jr., Chairman

Wayne Grimditch, United States. A member of the United States water ski team in four World Championships, winning two gold medals in jumping in 1969 and 1975 and a gold medal in tricks in 1973. Wayne held the World jumping record continuously from 1972 to 1979. As a winning competitor in the ABC Television Superstars competition, he brought the sport of water skiing to the attention of millions.

Max Kirwan, O.A.M., Australia. President of the AsianAustraliasian Region for an unprecedented twenty-five years, retiring from that position in 2003 and currently an IWSF Vice-President. Max was a co-founder of the famed Moomba Masters tournament in 1960 and has been involved in that event ever since. For his contributions to sport in Australia he was awarded the Order of Australia Medal.

Helena Kjellander, Sweden. Skiing in ten World Championships from 1981 to 1999, Helena dominated in slalom with a record four consecutive gold medals in that event from 1991 to 1997. Other slalom achievements included eleven Professional Tour championships and two U.S. Masters titles. Helena served as chair of the IWSF Athletes Commission from 1996 to '2000 and contributed significantly to the effort to introduce water skiing into the Olympics.

Judy McClintock-Messer, Canada. A member of the Canadian water ski team for the World Championships nine times from 1979 to 1995, concluding her career with the gold medal in Overall in 1995. Always an overall contender, Judy earned an additional three bronze medals and one silver in overall as well as two medals in tricks, including a gold in 1985. One of the highlights of her career was being able to contribute significantly to the team score in 1991 when the Canadian team became the first to take the coveted team gold away from the United States.

Natalia Roumiantseva, Russia. An innovative and dominant competitor in trick skiing and a World overall champion in 1993. In tricks, Natalia won the World Championships in 1979, 1983 and 1987, took silver medals in 1981, 1989 and 1993, and set five World trick records. One of her most cherished medals came from slalom: a silver in the 1991 World Tournament. Natalia continues her involvement in the organization of the sport.



André Coutau SUI
Willa Worthington McGuire USA
Alfredo Mendoza MEX


Elizabeth Allan USA
William P. Barlow USA
Franco Carraro ITA
Marina Doria SUI
Jean Muller FRA


George Athans CAN
Alan Clark AUS
William D. Clifford USA
Mike Hazelwood GBR
Mike Suyderhoud USA


Ivan Cantacuzene SUI
Carlos Suarez VEN
Cindy Todd USA
Roby Zucchi ITA

Golden Anniversary

Piera Castelvetri ITA
Bruce Cockburn AUS
Roger Codère CAN
Richard Cowell BWI
René Daumas MEX
Jean-Jacques Finsterwald SUI
Simon Khoury LEB
Betty Leighton AUS
David Nations GBR
Dick Pope, Sr. USA
Brett Wing AUS


Ana Maria Carrasco VEN
Geoff Carrington AUS
Sylvie Hulsemann SUI
Neville May AUS
Karen Neville AUS


Chantal Amade-Escot
Maria Victoria Carrasco VEN
Ian Faulkner AUS
Renate Hansluvka AUT
Chuck Stearns USA


Bruce Douglas NZE
Sammy Duvall USA
Franz Kirsch GER
Deena Mapple USA
Jean-Marie Muller FRA


Bob Corson, United States.
Sylvie Maurial, France.
Ricky McCormick, United States.
Jeannette Stewart-Wood, Great Britain.
Glenn Thurlow, Australia.

Order of Merit

George Blair,United States
Ralph Meloon,United States