International Water Ski Federation Disabled Council

IWSF Disabled Council History and Information

From:	Jim Grew, 75463,3517
TO:	Robert K. Corson, 72632,3414
DATE:	1/8/96 4:41 PM

World Disabled Water Ski History

Even though this item is on the WSDA page, where it should not be, will you
still add it to the IWSF page?  Please advise.  Thanks.  Happy '96!  What
delightful weather!  Today's high is 45 degrees, but I gather comparisons to
your area are not rightfully valid.  

               International Water Ski Federation
                     an historical overview

                        WORLD TOURNAMENTS

1987 - The first World Trophy, a non-record event, took place in
       England with officials from region II and one from Region
       I.  There were 40 participants from 7 countries.

1989 - The Second World Trophy, a national record capability
       event took place in Australia with officials from Region
       III and one each from Regions I & II.  There were 55
       participants from 9 countries.

1991 - The Third and final World Trophy, a world record
       capability event, took place in the USA with at least two
       officials from each Region.  There were 65 participants
       from 12 countries.

1993 - The first-ever World Championships, a world record
       capability event, was held in France with at least three
       officials from each Region as per the new rules.  There
       were 84 participants from 15 countries.

1995 - The second World Championships were held in Australia
       with 56 athletes from 12 countries.  19 world records were

                     IWSF COMMISSION/COUNCIL

1986 - In Norway, the original commission of three persons was

1987 - At the time of the first Trophy, there was one member from
       each Region, all disabled, and a president, Peter Felix.
       It was a commission, reflecting a lack of participating
       countries, hence a world trophy.

1989 - At the second Trophy, an additional member was chosen to
       the commission from each Region, all able-bodied.

1991 - After the IWSF Executive Board encouraged the disabled
       commission to move towards council status, a third member
       was selected to the commission from each Region, and in
       some cases an alternate.

1992 - The IWSF Executive Board approved council status for the
       disabled in July, due to an increase in participating
       countries, established rules, etc.  The Disabled Council
       is now on equal footing with classic, barefoot, & racing.

                                             OVER . . .

                   1995 IWSF Disabled Council

Chairman:        Jim Grew, USA (93)

Region I:        The Americas, North, South & Central)
                 Bill Bowness, USA (86) - President
                 Jim Grew, USA (89)
                 Jorge Font, MEX (95)
                 Karen Shaffer, CAN (92) - alternate

Region II:       EAME - Europe, Asia, Middle East)
                 Lill Fitzpatrick, IRL (90) - President
                 Serge Boute, BEL (92)
                 Yves Marinoni, SWITZ (94)
                 Steve Butterworth, GB (92) - alternate

Region III:      Australasia
                 Len Sheppard, AUST (86) - President
                 Pam Carter, SING (92)
                 Gordon Woods, NZ (92)
                 Kevin Murfitt, AUST (94) - alternate

Technical Committee:       Chair, Serge Boute (93)

Classification Committee:  Chair, Lill Fitzpatrick (93)

Paralympic Committee:      Chair, Bill Furbish, USA (95)

Medical Commissioner:      Barbara Fair, MD, IRL (95)


In 1989, each Region had its own set of IWSF World Rules for the
Disabled.  By 1991, one set of rules, keyed to the IWSF able-
bodied rules, had been approved.  By 1992, a more sophisticated
set was finalized, including all the necessary appendices, and
keyed specifically, rule by rule, to the IWSF rules.  1994
witnessed the addition of a tournament handbook; 1995, the
implementation of a worlds standing list.


The first world records were set at the 1991 World Trophy with
the proviso that there be at least 4 contestants in the event.
Performances from the 1989 Trophy that qualified under this
stipulation, and were not exceeded at the 1991 event, were
grandfathered in as records.  All others were tracked as world
tournament bests.  With the 1993 Worlds, records could be set in
all categories because minimum standards were established.  1995
witnessed the tracking of regional records for the first time.


            The original categories were as follows:

                          Arm amputees

                          Leg Amputees

                 Multiple Plegics (Paraplegics)


                        Partially Sighted


                     Les Autres (the others)

- The Leg Amputee category was divided into two (with and without
  prosthesis) after the 1989 Trophy.

- The Multiple Plegics category was divided into three after the
  1991 Trophy according to a classification system performed at
  each worlds.  The women were recombined at the World
  Tournament in 1995 because of a lack of participation.

- The Partially Sighted category was divided into two according
  to the International Blind Sports Association (IBSA)
  classification system, which necessitates passports indicating
  status.  In 1994, it was combined back into one again.

- The category for Deaf was eliminated after the 1989 Trophy.

- Les Autres, a catch-all category for those who do not fit into
  the current framework, became demonstration in 1990.

- The IWSF Disabled movement was determined to be for the
  physically disabled only in 1989.