21Jul13 2013 International Hall of Fame Selections Announced

Des Burke-Kennedy IRL, Chairman of the International Hall of Fame Selection Committee, today announced the names of the outstanding individuals to be inducted to the International Hall of Fame during the World Waterski Championships in Santiago, Chile, on Thursday, November 28th 2013. In the past 24 years, only 46 Skiers and 22 Officials will now have received this special accolade.

The Selection Rules limit the number of Inductees every two years to a maximum of just five individuals. In November next, one Official and four Athletes from three Disciplines will be inducted.

Apart from the non-voting Chairman, the Selection Committee comprised the following this year : PanAm Confederation : George Athans CAN, Frank Harrison USA and Edgardo Martin ARG; EA Confederation : Guenther Ludwig GER, Stefan Rauchenwald AUT and Chantal Amade Escot FRA; AAO Confederation : Glenn Thurlow AUS, Murray Eade NZL and Bruce Cockburn AUS.

Congratulations to those selected for induction in 2013. Here are some very brief highlights which will be described in greater detail at the November Induction Ceremony.

BILL BOWNESS USA - Disabled Waterski

Won nine individual World Championships Gold Medals in the MP Division since 1987, six time World Record holder, nine time member of the USA Disabled Waterski Team


IWWF Board Member and Technical Committee Member for 35 years, Chief Judge at both Waterski and Barefoot World Championships, Chief Judge at Asian Championships 12 times

LUCKY LOWE USA - Waterski Athlete

Began Waterskiing at the age of six and first competed at seven. USA Elite Waterski Team member 1979-85, Slalom World Champion 1991, Medallist also 1985, 1989 and 1993.

TONI NEVILLE AUS - Waterski Athlete

Four World Tournament Jump Records, Open Women's Ski Fly World Record, Slalom and Jump World Championships Records in 1997 and 1999, eight National Australian Records.

NADINE de VILLIERS RSA - Barefoot Waterski Athlete

Eight World Barefoot Records covering Slalom, Tricks and Jump, ten World Barefoot Championships Gold Medals, twelve Europe/Africa Championships Gold Medals.

The International Hall of Fame Ceremony will take place at the Atton Hotel in Santiago, Chile, at 19.00hrs on Thursday, November 28th, during the Waterski World Championships and all are welcome to attend the event, space permitting. Updates will be posted on Facebook at : https://www.facebook.com/pages/IWWF-International-Hall-of-Fame/134306999971099?ref=hl