29Jan12 IWWF Europe Africa Confederation Congress In Thessaloniki Greece

Delegates from 28 Federations today attended the annual Congress in a chilly 6C / 42Fh Thessaloniki, Greece. The delegates were welcomed by Greek Minister and Member of Parliament, Georgos Orfanos. With voting taking place for positions on seven Councils plus E&A President, Secretary General, Treasurer and Admincom, it was an action packed event throughout. Many of the key positions remained unchanged.

A standing ovation was given to retiring Stefan Rauchenwald AUT and Alan Goggin GBR. Stefan has contributed 28 years of outstanding effort to our sport and his role as Tournament Council President has received the admiration of all. Alan brought good humor and direction as he steered the E&A Congresses as Chairman over the past decade and will be greatly missed. Stefan was replaced by Candido Moz ITA and the next Congress Chairman will be announced later.
IWWF President Kuno Ritschard and retiring EA Tournament Council President Stefan Rauchenwald

Kuno Ritschard, IWWF President, released the new WAKEBOARD 2020 VISION brochure. Uwe Goldstein of the Cable Development Committee made a detailed presentation on Cable Park development throughout the world. With systems now operating in 48 countries and an additional 17 new Cable Parks under construction at this time, future growth prospects look very encouraging. The Waterski & Wakeboard World Cup Series will now also include some Cable Stops.

Des Burke-Kennedy, IWWF Marketing & Media Chairman, made a presentation on New Media and its current impact on sport. He highlighted the work required immediately by all Federations and a lengthy discussion followed with the delegates.

The E&A Athletes of the Year were also announced and congratulated - Natalia Berdnikava BLR and Adam Sedlmajer CZE, and all of the relevant Councils awarded their particular Record Certificates.

Other discussions took place on competition calendar bids and venues, future Congresses and finances and full details will be available shorthly in the published Minutes at : http://www.eame.be/waterski/waterski.nsf/homepage?openpage