20Jun07 Inductions For Hall Of Fame Announced

Bill Barlow, Jr., Chairman of the IWSF Hall of Fame Selection Committee, has announced the names of those to be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the end of August at the World Tournament Championships to be held in Austria. The ceremony will take place on Thursday, 26 August at the Castle in Steyregg.

The inductees are:
Andres Botero - COL
Bob LaPoint - USA
Patrice Martin - FRA
Bruce Neville - AUS
Aubrey Sheena - GBR

Brief achievements of the inductees are as follows:

Andrew Botero, Colombia: President of the IWSF from 1991 to 2001; President of the PanAm Region from 1980 to 1991; currently President of the Colombian Olympic Committee and recently nominated for membership on the International Olympic Committee.

Bob LaPoint, USA: In a competitive career of 35 years was five times World Slalom Champion from 1977 to 1987; World record holder in slalom five times in the 1970s and 1980s holding the record for a total of 10 years from 1976 to 1988.

Patrice Martin, France: Winner of 12 gold medals at the World Tournament Championships including 4 championships in tricks between 1978 and 1991, an unprecedented 6 consecutive championships in overall between 1989 and 1999, and two gold medals as a member of the winning French team.

Bruce Neville, Australia: Twice World Tournament Champion in jump in 1991 and 1995 and holder of three World jump records from 1995 to 1999.

Aubrey Sheena, Great Britain: President of the EAME Region of the IWSF for 14 years from 1984 to 1998; first person to be elected as Treasurer of the IWSF serving until 2002; first chairman of the IWSF Environmental Committee until 2004.