ORLANDO, FL  FEB. 13, 2004 – The Masters Steering Committee has released the invitation criteria for the Chevrolet 45th Masters Water Ski & Wakeboard Tournament and the Rolex Junior Masters to be held at Callaway in Pine Mountain, Georgia, over Memorial Day weekend, May 28-30, 2004.

The Committee meets annually at the conclusion of the Masters –the worlds oldest, most prestigious, Water Ski and wakeboard tournament– to discuss the invitation criteria for the next year's event due to the ever-changing environment of professional watersports. 

After rigorous analysis of the marketplace and the record-capability event schedules of 2003 and 2004, the Committee has arrived at a very comprehensive list of criteria to ensure that the world's very best athletes are invited to the 45th Masters.  In 2004 the Women will return to the traditional Jump event rather than Ski Fly, as was used over the past several years.

The top 7 on the 2003 IWSF Elite Water Ski Ranking List in each discipline is used as only one of the criteria for invitation to the 45th Masters in 2003.

 "Correct Craft and Callaway, hosts of this event, are very pleased," Larry Meddock, tournament director, said.  "The Masters is and has always been about quality—not quantity.  We are committed to inviting only the best athletes in the world.  Everyone agrees with that philosophy; however there is sometimes dissension in the process used to achieve that lofty goal.”

The complete list of Criteria for Invitation to the Chevrolet 45th Masters Water Ski Tournament follows:





m o r e –







1.      2003 Defending Masters Event Champion.

2.       Official IWSF World Record Holder as of March 1, 2004.

3.       2003 IWSF Water Ski Worlds Event Champions.

4.       Top 7 on final IWSF Elite Ranking Lists for Slalom, Tricks and Jump

5.       Winners of the 2004 Moomba Masters events.

6.       Winner of any U.S. televised Professional Tour Event, May 19, 2003 through May 24, 2004.



In accordance with the above criteria, the following international field of elite skiers is invited:

Men Slalom:  William Asher (GBR), Jamie Beauchesne (USA), Steve Cockeram (NZE), Wade Cox (USA), Andy Mapple (GBR), Chris Parrish (USA) and Jeff Rodgers (USA). 

Men Ski Fly:  Jesper Cassoe (DEN), Ryan Dodd (CAN), Scot Ellis (USA), Freddy Krueger (USA), Jaret Llewellyn (CAN), Jason Seels (GBR), Curtis Sheers (AUS) and Jimmy Siemers (USA. 

Men Tricks:  Russell Gay (USA), Javier Julio (ARG), Nicolas LeForestier (FRA) , Jaret Llewellyn (CAN), Cory Pickos (USA), Jimmy Siemers (USA) and Joel Wing (AUS).                                   

            Women Slalom:  Sarah Gatty-Saunt (GBR), Natalie Hamrick (USA), Géraldine Jamin (FRA), Jill Knutson (USA), Emma Sheers (AUS), Michelle Simpson (USA) and Karen Truelove (USA).

            Women Jump:  Rhoni Barton (USA), June Fladborg (DEN), Jakalyn Hunter (GBR), Regina Jaquess (USA), Jennifer Kaiser (USA), Elena Milakova (RUS), Marina Mosti (ITA) and Emma Sheers (AUS).

            Women Tricks;  Rhoni Barton, (USA), Brandi Hunt (USA), Regina Jaquess (USA), Brigitte Lethem (FRA), Clementine Lucine (FRA), Marina Mosti (ITA) and Mandy Nightingale (USA).

            Invitees may call Tournament Coordinator, Gerry Fowler, for information regarding access to registration and tournament information at 1-888-806-2783   Additional ticket and event information is available on the website at  or call Toll Free at 1-888-806-2783.

For information regarding accommodations at Callaway, visit


# # # # #